How Igloos Are Constructed

Hi to all of you that is reading this post I am Tilisha and picked the topic Igloos. I hope you enjoy and learn something new or interesting about what I have written about igloos. I picked the topic igloos because I wanted to learn about igloos and how they are constructed. I have watched a clip from the movie version of the text, “To Build A Fire.” The research that i have done is relates to the text because the man in the video could have built an igloo instead of making open fires repeatedly. My topic relates to this week’s text because, it was 50 below and most people that go on expeditions build igloos. A movie that i’ve watched is Snow Buddies, and it relates to my topic and the story because the people in the movie rested in igloos and it is snowing. I’m pretty cure it was cold there also. I think the best part of this assignment was researching the topic and finding all the interesting facts about the topic you have chosen.

I asked myself several questions like: Why don’t igloos melt when there is a fire inside? Are igloos capable of getting warm or are igloos warm? Who built the first igloo? When i googled my questions i found some interesting things about igloos are like the reason that the igloo do not melt when there is a fire inside is because the fire is placed in the middle of the igloo farthest away from the walls, also the ice of the igloo will loose heat to the cold air outside. The Inuit also known as the Eskimos are said to have invented the igloo. Igloos are warm because snow insulates. Also the dome shaped offers little resistance to the wind inside an igloo. Igloos are also usually 32°. This topic was easy to research except the fact that I couldn’t find the answers to some of my questions so I changed the questions and it made it easier.

My information came from http://www.funtrivia.com, www.Google.com, and https://www.reference.com. If I could research another topic for next week it would be what makes people happy, sad, upset, ect. Emotions are what i would like to study.  For those who have read this what was the most interesting fact about your topic? What would you like to research? Did you find my post interesting? If there is any questions or comments please comment below. Thank You!!😊

6 thoughts on “How Igloos Are Constructed

  1. amya2002

    Although igloos are built to keep the heat in from the cold like in Antartica or the North Pole. Since it doesn’t get very cold in Alabama, I wonder if we could build an igloo to keep the cold in when it gets hot in the winter. It’s the same concept just the opposite way. Just like when people use building for very different reasons.

    • tsterling517

      NO AMAYA, you can not build igloos in the summer time. THE ICE WILL MELT.😊

  2. mrsmores

    Well, tsterling 517, I’m pretty sure there aren’t any igloos in the text or movie representation of “To Build a Fire,” but you have a great post here. Igloos do relate, since they are a type of home built by people who do live in such freezing climates. Here’s a pretty cool link that includes a 1949 video showing how to build an igloo, which apparently can be done in as little as 40 minutes. I’m glad you decided to create new questions rather than to give up without finishing your research and post. Maybe you could give your other questions as a comment here. Maybe one of your readers can find the information!

    • tsterling517

      Thank You Mr.Somers and I kinda forgot the questions I had asked but couldn’t find the answers to.

  3. Kam

    I learned a lot from your post on igloos. I figured out a few things that i didn’t know about them. Good Job.

    • tsterling517

      Thank You Kameron

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *